Foreword

The *Fourth International Conference on Modern Greek Dialects and Linguistic Theory (MGDLT4)* was held at the Homerion Institute of Chios, Greece (June 11-14, 2009). It was hosted by the Prefecture of Chios, with the support of the University of Patras (Research Committee), and Loukas Ktistakis Shipping Company. It was chaired by Prof. Angela Ralli (University of Patras), Prof. Brian D. Joseph (Ohio State University), and Prof. Mark Janse (Ghent University).

The conference brought together experts working on both linguistics and the dialects of Modern Greek, in a variety of topics and orientations. In the first day, there was a special workshop about *Research on Greek Dialects, Institutes, and Projects relative to Dialectology.* The speakers were: Dr. Christina Bassea-Bezantakou (Research Center for Modern Greek Dialects - Historical Dictionary, Academy of Athens), Dr. George Papanastasiou (Institute of Modern Greek Studies - Manolis Triantaphyllidis Foundation), Dr. Io Manolessou (Grammar of Medieval Greek, University of Cambridge), Prof. Panagiotis Kontos (University of Athens), Prof. Angela Ralli, Dr. Dimitris Papazachariou, and Athanasios Karasimos (University of Patras, Centre of Modern Greek Dialects).

The Scientific Committee wishes to express its gratitude to the invited speakers, who so promptly responded to its call, namely, Cleo Condoravdi (Stanford University), and Anna-Maria Di Sciullo (UQAM Canada). It would also like to thank the other speakers for their participation.

A special thank is due to Prof. Stavros Koubias, Rector of the University of Patras, Mr. Loukas Ktistakis, as well as the Research Committee of the University of Patras, and the Prefecture of Chios, whose generous support, moral and financial, made the organization of the Conference possible.

Last, but not least, the Scientific Committee is particularly grateful to the members of the Organizing Committee, Dimitra Melissaropoulou, Eleonora Dimela, Athanasios Karasimos, Nikolaos Koutsoukos, Maria Koliopoulou, and Nikos Angelopoulos, for their most valuable help before and during the conference.

The Permanent Scientific Committee

Angela Ralli Brian D. Joseph Mark Janse